INEC sets up 15 standing committees to ensure success of 2015 elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission has set up 15 Standing Committees to ensure the success of the general elections in 2015. NAN reports that this was contained in the commission’s bulletin issued in Abuja on Friday. 

The committees include: Appointments, Promotion and Discipline, Board of Survey and Technical Equipment Acquisition, Board of Electoral Institute and Election Observation and Party Monitoring. 

There are also Estate, Works and Transport, Finance and General Purpose, Health and Welfare, Information Technology and Voter Registration, and Information and Voter Registration committees. 

Others are Legal Services, Clearance and Complaints, Electoral Operations and Logistics, Outreach and Partnerships, Planning, Monitoring and Strategy, Security, and Tenders Board. 

According to NAN, the bulletin quoted a memo signed by the Secretary to the commission, Mrs Augusta Ogakwu, dated, Nov.13, as saying that the committees came into effect on Nov.17. It added that the commission had in 2010 set up 14 standing committees for similar purpose.

News desk


Popular posts from this blog

An Ozubulu Drug baron has been nabbed.

10th year Remembrance of Chief Sir Ben Ejidike (Ọnwa)